Mayo County Council logo

About This Website

Welcome to the Mayo County Council website!

This website is the official site for the local government of County Mayo, Republic of Ireland.

The Website was designed and is maintained by the IT Section of the Mayo County Council. The site builders and webmasters are Liz Morrisey, Alex Fleming and Rick Love. Liz Morrisey is the web editor, responsible for assisting Council staff in maintaining their websites.  Content remains the responsibility of the section/department it relates to.  As of 2013, Mayo local authorities have about 20 websites in total.

If you have questions regarding how to use this site or about adding information to the site or correcting information on the site, email us at

Please visit the other websites for and by the people of Mayo on

Header Photographs

The photographs used on the new look (launched May 2013) are by David Loftus Photography.  Visit David's website for information on his wedding and landscape work:

A Brief History of Mayo County Council Websites

The first Mayo County Council website ( was launched in the summer of 2000. The first iteration was built by Liam Cunningham and it was built using static html pages. Also in 2000, Eleanor O'Toole launched the Mayo Library Service Website ( and continues to maintain it.

Maintenance of the website was shared by a number of IT Staff and student interns until July 2001 when Alex Fleming joined the IT Section as its first full-time web developer. Rick Love joined the Web Team in October 2001 and Nuala Moore joined the team in July 2002.

Rick and Alex launched the first dynamic version of the website in December 2001 (built in ASP). The third and current iteration was launched in December 2002 (built in ASP with XHTML).   The site was given a new look and feel in 2005 and 2007.

The current iteration meets most WAI A-AAA Accessibility standards on most web pages.

The website currently receives around 30,000 visitors per month.

The Mayo County Development Board website ( was designed and built by Rick Love (built in ASP) and was launched in January 2002. The website is currently maintained primarily by Nuala Moore and its content is the responsibility of County Development Board staff member Patrick Morrison.

The Connaught Waste website ( was designed and built by Rick Love (built in ASP) in early 2002. The website is maintained by the Web Team and its content is the responsibility of the Connaught Waste Agency, currently headed by Michael O’Boyle.

The Mayo Energy Agency website ( was designed and built by Alex Fleming (built in ASP) in summer 2002. The website is maintained by Alex and its content is the responsibility of the Mayo Energy Agency.

In September 2002, a temporary County Mayo portal was launched ( This was replaced with a second iteration in 2006.

Also in late 2002, the Web Team designed, built and maintained the Mayo Special Olympics Host Town Website (; ASP with XHTML) for the Special Olympics World Games which took place in Dublin in 2003. The website will remain active until late 2003 or 2004 when the domain name expires. The building, hosting and maintenance of the website were donated by Mayo County Council to the host towns of Mayo.

In April 2003, the Web Team received the Microsoft Award in the Local Authorities Intranet Competition. The prize included the opportunity for Alex and Rick to visit the Microsoft offices in Redmond, Washington and the Intel offices in Santa Clara, California.

In October 2003, Mayo County Council won the competition to become one of the three pilot sites for the Local Government Computer Services Board-sponsored Mobhaile project which will begin in earnest in 2004 and will be ongoing.

In June 2004, Mayo County Council IT Section was recognized for it's certification efforts by the IPA.

In July 2004, Mayo County Council received the 3QC Award for Connaught Waste from Dept. of An Taoiseach.

Digital Media Awards Finalist 2006

In January 2006, Mayo County Council was shortlisted for a total of four awards: the Digital Media Award for Best Information Website, the Public Service Excellence Award from the Taoiseach's Office and two categories for eGovernment Awards.

Competition for the Digital Media Awards was fierce with over 500 entrants in 28 categories. In the end, Mayo County Council lost to the Mental Health Commission.

2007 has been our most successful year for awards.  In 2007, we won: the eGovernment Award for Accessibility and two Innovation Awards (Best Project Within an Organisation and Innovative Organisation).  We were shortlisted for several additional awards including a Digital Media Award for Best Short Film Production/Post Production for our Rehab People of the Year Awards videos.

Also in 2007, we were honoured to present our SSPS system at the EISCO conference in Finland.  This system was cofunded by Donegal County Council using a code-base from the LGCSB.  The system is now in use in several other local authorities in Ireland.

2007 Awards & Honours

In 2007, Mayo County Council won the Irish eGovernment Award (Accessible Website) and two Innovation Awards including Innovating Organisation (Eircom Innovation Awards).

We were also privelaged to present our SSPS system at the EISCO conference in Hameenlina, Finland.

Mayo County Council was shortlisted, but failed to win, a Digital Media Award for Best Film (Production and Post Production).  We were especially excited about this achievement as it recognises the quality of our video production skills.  2006 was the third year in which the IT Section produced the Rehab People of the Year videos and we submitted these for the DMA competition.  There were over 30 entries--all from professional production houses.  The five finalists were Mayo County Council, Zapata Films (which had two entries and won the overall award) and The Farm (which likewise had two entries in the top five).  The results were announced on 1 February 2007.


2008 Awards

  • Innovation Award for the Customer Extranet (Eircom Innovation Awards 2008).
  • Electronic Accessibility efforts assisted the Council in winning 3 NDA Excellence Through Accessibility designations.

2009 Awards

  • Shortlisted for an eGovernment Award for Irish language websites.
  • Electronic Accessibility efforts assisted the Council in winning an Excellence level designation (highest level) from NDA Excellence Through Accessibility programme.

2010 Awards

2010 eGovernment Award Trophy Group photo of the 2010 Team. Picture of Pat Carroll, HIS with Minister Mary Hanafin.

2010 eGovernment Trophy and L-R: Alex Fleming (Lead Developer), Pat Carroll (HIS), Rick Love (PL) and David Reddington (Developer).

  • eGovernment Award - Local Authority for the ePlanning project.
  • Also shortlisted for the Taoiseach's Public Service Excellence Award, a LAMA award and an eGovernment Award for Accessibility.

 2012 Awards

IT Staff were heavily focused on the website from Q4 2010 to Q2 2011.  The site was launched in June 2011 by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny at Turlough Park House Museum.

  • Winner of an eGovernment Award for for Promoting Ireland.
  • Shortlisted for a Digital Media Award for in the Listings Category.

2013 Awards

  • was shortlisted for a LAMA Award in the category of local government innovation.

2013 Changes

On 14th May 2010, launched its latest look.  The new look emphasises highlights of the County using photographs at the top of each page (a random photo is shown each time a page is loaded).  The new look is also based on responsive design which means the site automatically resizes to work with mobile phones, tablets and desktops to take full advantage of each screen size.  The new design was created by Enhance (

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites