Mayo County Council logo

Castlebar and Ballina Hub Town Funding

The Mayo Hub Towns of Castlebar and Ballina were each awarded an allocation of €1.4m from the ERDF Co-financed Grants Scheme through the BMW Regional Assembly.  The Scheme was targeted at enhancing the attractiveness of the gateways and hub towns in the 13 County BMW Region as places to live, work and invest in.

Ballina received funding for the regeneration of Pearse Street and for the refurbishment of the Jackie Clarke Library and Archives.

Castlebar received funding for the town centre Regeneration Project and for the development of a River Walk as an amenity corridor.  Works in both towns are now complete.

Main Street Castlebar, Upgrade photo
Main Street, Castlebar 

For more information concerning Ireland's EU structural funds please visit

Funding Provided by:

BMW Logo ERDF Logo

EU Structural Fund Logo for Ireland BW

Posted: 23/10/2012
Some of this information is not currently available in English. To view this information it its entirety in Irish, please click the “Irish” tab at the top of the page.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites