Mayo County Council logo

Planning: Electoral Areas

Electoral Areas

Planning is administered within Mayo based on the Electoral Area where the site is located.  For example, a site in Louisburgh would be in the Westport Electoral Area and so will be assigned to a Planner specialising in that Electoral Area and PrePlanning clinics for that site should be attended at the Westport Area Office.

There are 6 Electoral Areas in Mayo and each has its own Area Office.  These are:  Ballina, Belmullet, Castlebar, Claremorris, Swinford and Westport.

The following map should assist you in determining which Area Office you should attend PrePlanning clinics at:

County Mayo Electoral Areas 2009

Planning Section

Áras an Chontae
The Mall
Co. Mayo

NOTE: Where possible quote your Planning Reference Number e.g. P10/123 or your Pre-planning Reference Number e.g. Pl.16.001

Phone: Tel:(094) 9047204 FAX: (094) 9021694
Open: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m

Tools & Resources

Android Phone app now available for free on the Android Marketplace.  Search for "Mayo Planning Search."

Forward Planning Updates

Variation No. 5 to the Castlebar and Environs Plan 2008-2014 was made on the 10th July 2017

Castlebar & Environs Development Plan 2008-2014


Deferral of notices for the Ireland West Airport Knock Local Area Plan 2012-2018

Cheif Executive's Report






  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites