Mayo County Council logo

Amateur Drama Award Recipients 2016 announced!

 The Railway Theatre Group, have been awarded the Mayo County Council Amateur Drama Award for 2016, which was assessed by an external, independent panel on the following criteria: innovation; development of excellence; quality and creativity which improve the Amateur Drama sector in an area. All Amateur Drama groups based in the county are eligible to apply for the award of € 1,000.

The Railway Theatre group formed in early 2015 when a group of four ladies from Mayo set out with a common ambition to devise a new Irish play. “Three Plus One” was devised by the actors and written by Mary Ellen Conlon.  In 2016 they performed their play in Kiltimagh Town Hall Theatre, Ballina Arts Centre and the Linenhall Arts Centre.

Mayo Arts Office would like to take this opportunity to wish The Railway Theatre Group, the very best of luck in all future endeavours.


For more information please contact The Arts Office, Mayo County Council, Áras an Chontae, Castlebar (tel: 094 9024444, ext. 7558 or 7471 or e-mail:


Posted: 04/01/2017
Some of this information is not currently available in English. To view this information it its entirety in Irish, please click the “Irish” tab at the top of the page.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites