You are Here: Home > Services > Arts Office > Arts Update - Newsletters > 2009 > March 2009

March 2009 Update

In this issue:


Visual Art


Ballina Arts Centre - Time to Fly - Works from Ballina Training Centre, Offical Opening Wed 4th March. Linenhall Arts Centre, Castlebar - Will O'Kane - The Lure of Presentiment - Fri 6th - Sat 28th March.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Visual Art

Literature


The Pen & Ink Club, Kiltimagh March 10th & 24th. Literary brunch in aid of Ballina Arts Centre Redevelopment, 21st March. Call for submissions issue 11 of revival poetry journal, deadline 28th Feb. Reading by Canadian poet Jason Rotstein at the Cyril Gray Memorial Hall Dugort Achill February 26th at 8.30 pm.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Literature

Theatre


Linenhall Arts Centre Castlebar: 9th March: youth drama, armed eye film & theatre co. Mon 23rd March, Prime cut production - Woman & Scarecrow. Aras Inis Gluaire: Sat 28th March, Erris players present The Playboy of the Western World. Town Hall Kiltimagh:Kiltimagh Town Hall Theatre Open Evening Friday 13th March 7pm, All Stars Performing Arts Team Mayo, Exhibition of Photography. Sliabh Glah Drama Group, Cavan present :"Run For Your Wife" by Ray Cooney. Saturday 21st March.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Theatre

Music


Ballina Arts Centre:I’ll Live ‘til I Die: A celebration in Story & Song of Delia Murphy. Thursday 26th March, 8pm. LINENHALL ARTS CENTRE, CASTLEBAR: Contemporary Jazz. Monday 2nd March @ 8.00pm. Gyan Riley Trio (USA).Light Classical Concert. Thursday 5th March @ 8.00pm. Castlebar Concert Band + Mayo Youth Orchestra. Blues. Thursday 12th March @ 8.00pm. Don Baker. Contemporary Folk. Wednesday 18th March @ 8.00pm. Johnny Duhan. Choral Concert. Thursday 26th & Friday 27th March @ 8.00pm. Mayo Male Voice Choir Aras Inis Gluaire: North Mayo GAA Scór na bPaistí. Dé Céadaoin 11ú Márta/Wednesday 11th March@ 7.00pm. The WhistleBlast Quartet. Déardaoin 12ú Márta/Thursday 12th March @ 6.00pm. Workshop/Concert with the children of the Aughalasheen National School. Matt Cunningham and his Band Dé hAoine 13ú Márta/Friday 13th March @ 10.00pm. Blackheart. Dé Domhnaigh 15ú Márta /Sunday 15th March @ 8.00pm.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Music

Workshops


Ballina Arts Centre: Textile Art for Children, with Clare Ballard. Saturday 7th, 14th & 21st March. ÁRAS INIS GLUAIRE: Music appreciation Workshop with Adrian Vernon Fish. Dé Máirt 10ú, 24ú, 31ú Márta/Tuesday 10th, 24th, 31st March, 10.00am—12.30pm.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Workshops

Film Clubs


Ballina Arts Centre - La Zona (Dir: Rodrigo Plá, Mexico, 2007). Tuesday 10th March, 8pm. The Banishment(Dir:Andrei Zvyagintsev, Russia, 2007).Tuesday 24th March, 8pm. LINENHALL ARTS CENTRE, CASTLEBAR: Film Matinee. Tuesday 3rd March @ 2.30pm. Walk the Line. USA 2005 130mins Cert: 12A. Film Club. Tuesday 24th March @ 8.00pm. La Zona. Mexico 2007 97mins

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Film Clubs

Funding


Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon, DEIS, deadline Fri 24th April.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Funding

Public Art Opportunities


Public Art Commission Opportunity. Ballina, Co Mayo. 1st stage applications is Friday 3rd April 2009.

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Public Art Opportunities

Other News & Opportunities


The Royal Hibernian Academy Thomas Dammann Junior Memorial Trust Awards 2009, closes Fri 13th March. Art@work 2009. Artists Residency Programme apply by Tues 31st March. Artist in the Community Scheme 2009, first deadline Thurs 26th Feb. Fundraising Table Quiz, Ballina Golf Club, Thursday 5th March, 8pm in aid of Ballina Arts Centre Redevelopment campaign. Kiltimagh St. Patrick's Festival, Saturday 14th - Tuesday 17th March. The board of Riverbank Arts Centre Kildare, wishes to recruit a new staff team, apply by 13th March. Human Rights Film School Competition

Tuilleadh eolais/Read the full story: Other News & Opportunities