Mayo County Council logo

Mayo County Council Writer In Residence

Mayo County Council Arts Service has proactively initiated and managed successful artist in residence programmes over the years. The writer in residence programme has been especially effective and has included writers such as Dermot Healy, Michael Gorman, Val Mulkearns, Richard Murphy, Neill Donnelly, Ré O’Laighlais, Máire Holmes, Paddy Bushe, John Breen, Éilís Ní Dhuibhne, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Biddy Jenkinson, Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde, Manchán Magan, Diarmuid de Faoite & John F. Deane. Since 2001 this has been a bi-lingual residency so that the writer can work in Gaeltacht areas of the county.

The Writer in Residence programme usually takes place in May/June and in the past has ranged from a month to an intensive two week programme. The work takes place throughout the county and consists of:

  • Working with writers groups in Mayo giving a series of workshops/ readings.
  • Working with primary and secondary schools where appropriate
  • Working with other groups who would benefit from the residency (e.g. Mayo Youth Theatre, Irish language students)

For more information about the residency check out the Arts News

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites