Mayo County Council logo

Mayo Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)

The Mayo LCDC was established in 2014 for the purposes of developing, coordinating and implementing a coherent and integrated approach to local and community development. The committee is made up of representatives from the Local Government and Local Development sectors, public bodies and representatives of social, economic, environmental and community interests. The LCDC is a sub-committee of the local authority but is independent in the discharge of its functions under the Local Government Act 2014. 

In 2016 the Mayo LCDC launched its six- year local community plan LCEP which includes measures to tackle poverty and disadvantage, support enterprise, employment and training, develop community infrastructure and promote economic development.

The LCDC is also responsible for the strategic coordination, governance, planning and oversight of Local Development expenditure by Local Authorities on behalf of the state or by other Local Development agencies and structures for example the LEADER Programme and SICAP Programmes.

Mayo Local Community Development Committee consists of the following representatives: 




Cllr. Al McDonnell (Chairperson)

Mayo County Council


Mr. Peter Hynes

Mayo County Council


Mr. John Magee

Local Enterprise Office


Cllr. Neil Cruise

Mayo County Council


Cllr. Richard Finn

Mayo County Council


Mr. Martin Greaney



Mr. Joe Morrin

Dept. Social Protection


Mr. Ian McAndrew

Udaras na Gaeltachta


Mr. Gerry O’Neill

South West Mayo Dev. Co.

Local Development

Mr. Justin Sammon

Mayo North East LEADER

Local Development

Mr. John O’Donnell

Farming Rep.

Social Partners-Farming

Mr. Denis O’Boyle


Social Partners-Trade Union

Ms. Stephanie Colombani

Chambers of Commerce

Social Partners- Business

Ms. Breege Grealis


Community –

Mr. Pat Smyth


Community – Environment pillar

Ms. Rosaleen Lally


Community-Social Inclusion pillar

Ms. Mary Keane



Ms. Corena Ward


Community – Social Inclusion pillar

Mr. Pat Howley

Education & Training Board



Please see Links below for further information of the Mayo LCDC:

 Minutes of Meetings 


Contact Us:

Declan Turnbull - Chief Officer, Community Engagement Section, Mayo County Council, Top Floor, Cedar House, Moneen Road, Castlebar, Co. Mayo.

Phone:  0949064337





Latest News:

Pride of Place Awards 2018

County Mayo community groups were honoured at the annual IPB Pride of Place awards held in Cork City Hall on Saturday evening (November 17).

Balla lifted the best Urban Neighbourhood/Village with a population between 300 and 1000 with the Erris branch of the Irish Wheelchair Association coming runners up in the Community Wellbeing Initiative category.

Mayo was represented by three projects at the awards – Balla, Erris IWA and Céide Coast Community Tourism project. All three were nominated earlier in the year by Mayo County Council.

Representatives from all three projects were among the 800 strong crowd in City Hall, Cork.

Pride of Place is an annual all-island competition organised by Co-operation Ireland, IPB Insurance and Local Authority partners which acknowledges the work of communities all over the island of Ireland. Judging took place in August and consisted of a site visit to each location with presentations by community representatives of their achievements and tours of the areas.

Spokesperson and Head of Community Engagement for Mayo County Council, Ms Síofra Kilcullen, said ‘We are extremely proud of our three entries who work tirelessly to make their communities better places to live, work and visit. That work goes on every day, and are delighted to get a chance to acknowledge it through the Pride of Place Competition’

A big congratulations to all!‌

Pride of Place 2018 Balla

Pride of Place 2018 Erris

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites