Mayo County Council logo

Litter Action League

Litter Action League

This competition is open to Tidy Towns Committees and Community Groups in all towns and villages in County Mayo.  The competition commenced in April and ran until October 2017.  It is run on a league basis i.e. each of the participating towns and villages compete against all other towns and villages in its group on successive months.

The control and prevention of litter pollution in Co. Mayo is an ongoing challenge. One of the measures in the County’s Litter Management Plan is Community and Voluntary Group co-operation. We hope over the lifespan of this plan to increase promotion of and expand these awards. 

Entrants were divided into the following categories:

Group B                      Smaller towns (population 500 - 1000)

Group C                      Large Villages (populations <500)

Group D                      Smaller Villages

Group B        Overall Winner           Shrule

                     Runner Up                  Kilmaine

                     Play Off Winner          Ballindine


  Group C1        Overall Winner        Bonniconlon                    

                        Beaten Finalist       Aughagower

                        Play Off Winner      Ballyglass


  Group C2       Overall Winner        Clogher          

                        Beaten Finalist        Parke

                        Play Off Winner       Cornboy

Group D           Overall Winner     Kilkeeran           

                        Beaten Finalist     Barnacarroll


Pay Off Winner     Innishbiggle Island‌‌‌


Litter Action Community Competition

This competition is open to Tidy Towns Committees and Community Groups in all towns in Co Mayo.  The competition commenced in April and ran until September, 2017.










Environment, Climate Action & Agriculture Department

Second Floor, Mayo County Council
Áras an Chontae
The Mall
Phone: (094) 9024444
Contact Form: Online Complaints / Queries
Open: Opening Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Featured Links


  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites