Mayo County Council logo

Recycling Charges

Notice on Changes to Civic Amenity Centres from 1st March, 2017 (Document)

Mayo County Council Announce Plans to Extend Recycling and Develop Reuse Services at Civic Amenity Centres.
Formats Available:

Frequently Asked Questions on Changes to Civic Amenity Centres (Document)

Proposed Changes to Civic Amenity Centres from March 2017:
Formats Available:


For Landfill Opening Hours and other information please download the following PDF file:  Rathroeen & Derrinumera Civic Amenities Brochure   ‌(PDF FILE)‌


Service Rate
Waste Textiles, Batteries, Electrical & Electronic Goods Free
Recycling Charge Per Vehicle €3.40
Standard Refuse Bag €6.80
Green Garden Waste (in a car) €3.40
Green Garden Waste - single axle trailer €7.50
Green Garden Waste - double axle trailer €15.00
Single Mattress €6.80
Double Mattress €13.60
Any size bed base €6.80
Plasterboard recycling per tonne €198.00
Household hazardous waste €5.00 (from 3rd June, 2014)
Tyres (maximum 4 car tyres per year is included in the recycling charge)  
Large load of tyres per tonne €280.00
Domestic waste using weighbridge per tonne €280.00 (inclusive of Gov. Levy €75.00 and tax)
Landfill Levy per tonne €75.00
Minimum charge for use of weighbridge €25.00 (from 3rd June, 2014)
Use of weighbridge for Motor Tax €25.00
Composters €30.00
Construction & Demolition Waste (Rathroeen Only) Minimum charge €3.40 & €25.00 per tonne thereafter

Rathroeen & Derrinumera Civic Amenity Sites

Rathroeen Opening Hours

Monday - Friday

9.00am - 12.50pm

1.30pm - 4.30pm

Saturday 9.00am - 13.00pm


Derrinumera Opening Hours

Monday - Friday

9.00am - 4.30pm

Saturday 9.00am - 13.00pm

Environment Section

Second Floor, Mayo County Council
Áras an Chontae
The Mall
Phone: (094) 9024444
Contact Form: Online Complaints / Queries
Open: Opening Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
and 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites