Mayo County Council logo

Village Design Statements

Village Design Statements

‌Mayo County Council, in partnership with the communities of Louisburgh, Belcarra and Mulranny, with the support of The Heritage Council, has prepared Village Design Statements for these villages. A Village Design Statement is currently being prepared for Cong.

Village Design Statements rely on input from local communities to:

- identify the local distinctive character of the village and surrounding countryside

- provide design guidance for new development.



   The Mulranny Village Design Statement was launched by An Taoiseach Enda Kenny in April 2012


An Taoiseach Enda Kenny arriving at the launch of the Mulranny Village Design Statement



Launch of the Mulranny Village Design Statement (back row l to r: Michael Starrett, CEO The Heritage Council, Cllr Austin Francis O'Malley, Cathaoirleach Mayo Co. Council, Sean Carolan, PRO Mulranny Community Futures, Michael Parsons, Heritage Council Board Member, Michael Colreavy, Architectural Heritage Policy Adviser, Dept. of Arts, Heritage & the Gaeltacht, Peter Hynes, Mayo Co. Manager (front row l to r: Deirdre Cunningham, Mayo Heritage Officer, An Taosieach, Mr Enda Kenny, T.D. Conor Newman, Chair of The Heritage Council; Michael Hughes, Chairman Mulranny Community Futures)  


Deirdre Cunningham

Heritage Officer
Mayo County Council
Áras an Chontae

Phone: 094 9024444

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites