Mayo County Council logo

Housing: Local Authority Loans

Local Authority loans for home purchase and improvement

If you cannot get a mortgage from a building society bank etc, to purchase or build a house you may be eligible for a loan from your local authority. 

Do I Qualify?

  • If you can show the local authority that you are unable to get a loan from a bank or a building society
  • in need of housing
  • Earning under €50,000 as a single applicant and under €75,000 as joint application
  • The primary earner must be in continuous employment for at least two years (this can be self employment) and the second applicant must have at least one year (certain exceptions can be considered)
  • a local authority tenant or tenant purchaser who wishes to buy a private house and to return your present house to the local authority
  • a tenant for more than one year of a house provided by a voluntary body under the Rental Subsidy Scheme who wishes to buy a private house and return your present house to the voluntary body. 

How much will the repayments be:

The interest rate on local authority loans is variable (i.e. moves up or down) in line with movements in building society variable mortgage rates. The current variable interest rate is 2.30%.  This excludes Mortgage Protection.

Contact details for Housing

Rental Accomodation Scheme (RAS) Central Housing Office - Swinford
College House
Station Road
(094) 9251495

Ballina Municipal District Offices
Ballina Civic Offices
Arran Place
(096) 76100

Claremorris Municipal District Offices
Kilcolman Road
Claremorris: (094) 9372310

Ballinrobe Housing Office:
Kilmaine Road
Balinrobe: (094) 9541111

West Mayo Municipal District Offices
Belmullet Civic Centre
Church Road
(097) 81004

Westport Housing Office

Altamount Street
(098) 50400

Castlebar Municipal District Office
Áras an Chontae
The Mall
094 9024444

Online Services

Can't find what you need?

Report issues with potholes, paths, drainage/flooding, public lighting, illegal dumping and other issues online via the website.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites