Mayo County Council logo

About West Mayo Municipal District

West Mayo Municipal District was established following the abolition of Westport Town Council in 2014 and the amalgamation of the Belmullet Electoral Area, Westport Electoral area and Westport Town Council area.

West Mayo Municipal District meets the requirements of both Westport Town, Westport Electoral Area, Belmullet Electoral Area and its general areas by maintaining essential services, such as housing, roads, amenities whilst also encouraging competitiveness and growth.

The West Mayo Municipal District represents the population of the district as a whole which forms the natural hinterland of West Mayo as distinct from the Belmullet Electoral area, Westport Electoral area and Westport Town area which had more limited functional territorial and operational scope.

There are currently 7 elected members of West Mayo Municipal District.  The Municipal District is also served by a Director of Services, Head of Municipal District, Senior Executive Engineer, Administrative Officer and support staff.  

West Mayo Municipal District and Mayo County Council have a proud history of serving their community and this strong characteristic has been carried forward to the Municipal District structure.  The structure endeavours to marry all that was positive about both authorities with the benefit of improved operational facilities.

If you have any queries, please contact

West Mayo Municipal District

Mayo County Council
West Mayo Municipal District,
Westport Civic Offices
Altamont Street,
Westport F28 W248

Phone: 098 50400
Open: Open: 9am - 1pm
2pm - 5pm

Online Services

Can't find what you need?

Report issues with potholes, paths, drainage/flooding, public lighting, illegal dumping and other issues online via the website.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites