You are Here: Home > Site Tools > Accessibililty

Accessibility: Disability Act 2005

Draft Disability Strategic Plan

The Disability Act 2005 requires Local Authorities to provide people with disabilities full and equal access to all their services. Mayo Local Authorities have developed a draft Disability Strategic Plan which identifies the Authorities objectives, goals and policies in relation to people with disabilities. It also provides a list of actions and initiatives that will progressively address these objectives.

Mayo Local Authorities are now making this document available to any interested person or organisation for consideration, comment or suggestion.

Copies of the Draft Disability Strategic Plan may be downloaded by clicking on the link below:

Draft Disability Strategic Plan (Word) 

Draft Disability Strategic Plan (PDF)

Comments or suggestions should be submitted in writing to The Access Officer, Mayo County Council, Fire Station HQ, Humbert Way, Castlebar, Co. Mayo. Latest date for receipt of such submissions is Friday 24th November, 2006. Alternatively comments or suggestions may be sent by e-mail to:

"Access For All"

The Disability Act 2005 came into effect in July 2005. Mayo Local Authorities are committed to ensuring its public buildings, public spaces, services and information are universally accessible to all. To achieve this Mayo Local Authorities have established a working group, details of this group displayed below:

Name of Working Group: Access For All

Aim of the Committee:

"To initiate, promote, create awareness and implement universal access policies in the 4 Mayo Local Authorities and to manage, co-ordinate and oversee the implementation of the policies and associated actions in compliance with current legislation."

Officers on the Committee:

  • Access Officer Mr. Kevin Cooke 094 – 9047907
  • Disability Liaison Officer Mr. Joe Loftus 094 – 9047337
  • Equality Officer Ms Martina Hughes 094 – 9047153

Committee members and Location:

  • Joe Loftus DOS, Disability Liaison Officer, Committee Chair
  • Pat Carroll Head of Information Systems, IT Section
  • Derek Carson Scanner, Planning & Development Section
  • John Condon County Secretary, Corporate Affairs Section
  • Kevin Cooke Access Officer, Enforcement Section
  • Yvonne Geraghty Secretary, Corporate Affairs Section
  • Martina Hughes Equality Officer, Personnel Section
  • Kevin Keegan EA, North East Region Representative
  • Geeta Keena SEA, Architects Section
  • Seamus Murphy Chief Fire Officer, Fire Station
  • Siobhan Sexton EA, South East Region Representative
  • Declan Turnbull Community & Enterprise Representative
  • Martina Walsh Training representative, Corporate Affairs Section
  • Simon Wall EA, West Region Representative

Creating Universal Access

In line with the requirements of the Disability Act 2005 all Local Authority public facilities and services shall be audited and a plan prepared to carry out any alterations / changes necessary to ensure that persons with disabilities may access and use all services provided by the Authorities. It is intended that these public facilities and services shall made accessible and useable by all by December 2015.


Persons or organisations wishing to make a complaint regarding the failure Mayo Local Authorities to comply with the requirements of the Disability Act 2005 may do so by following the established complaints procedure. A copy of this procedure is available from the Corporate Affairs Department, Mayo County Council, Aras an Chontae, The Mall, Castlebar, Co. Mayo.  The complaints procedure is also available on the Mayo County Council: Investigation of Complaints

Mr Jude Walsh, Corporate Affairs Section (Tel 094 – 9047307) has been appointed as Inquiry Officer to investigate any complaints made under the Disability Act 2005.


Access For All Committee
Aras an Contae
The Mall
County Mayo

Please feel free to contact us concerning any issues of accessibility related to Mayo County Council.
Phone: 094 90 24444
9am-1pm and 2pm-5pm Monday to Friday