Mayo County Council logo

Access For All Committee

Access For All

We in Mayo Local Authorities recognise and acknowledge the importance and value of accessible facilities and services.  We aim to provide a co-ordinated approach to the provision of these facilities and services. To achieve this, an internal working group has been established. The group is called the Access for All Committee (AFAC). The Access for All Committee will be a key player in the Disability Implementation Plan.  It will provide advice and guide the evaluation process.

The Committee was established in April 2006, with representation from all Directorates and disabled staff. It is an internal working group, headed up by The Director of Corporate Affairs. Members of the committee come from a wide cross-section within the Authority.

Aim of the Committee:

"To initiate, promote, create awareness and implement universal access policies in the four Mayo Local Authorities and to manage, co-ordinate and oversee the implementation of the policies and associated actions in compliance with current legislation."

Responsibilities of the Committee:

  • To motivate other staff in the four Local Authorities and to assist them to develop appropriate responses to the access needs of people with disabilities;
  • To review where the Authorities stands in relation to disability awareness measures, approaches and skills, implementation plans, support structures and staff skills;
  • To plan and have carried out access audits of all public facilities in the four Local Authorities;
  • To plan and put in place an implementation plan to bring the four Local Authorities public services and facilities to a standard that are useable by all.
  • To ensure that accessibility is embedded across the organisation and integral to corporate plans and general business planning.
  • To guide activities within the organisation, including the optimal spending of monies allocated by the DEHLG to ensure services and facilities are accessible for all.

Officers on the Committee:

  • Access Officer Mr. Kevin Cooke 094   9047907
  • Disability Liaison Officer Mr. Joe Loftus 094   9047337
  • Equality Officer Ms Martina Hughes 094   9047153

Committee members and Location:

  • Joe Loftus DOS, Disability Liaison Officer, Committee Chair
  • Pat Carroll Head of Information Systems, IT Section
  • Andrew Newman, Scanner, Fire Station HQ
  • John Condon County Secretary, Corporate Affairs Section
  • Kevin Cooke Access Officer, Enforcement Section
  • Martina Hughes Equality Officer, Personnel Section
  • Kevin Keegan EA, North East Region Representative
  • Geeta Keena SEA, Architects Section
  • Seamus Murphy Chief Fire Officer, Fire Station
  • Siobhan Sexton EA, South East Region Representative
  • Declan Turnbull Community & Enterprise Representative
  • Martina Walsh Training representative, Corporate Affairs Section
  • Simon Wall EA, West Region Representative
  • Ann Sweeney SEE, South East Region Representative


Access For All Committee

Aras an Contae
The Mall
County Mayo

Please feel free to contact us concerning any issues of accessibility related to Mayo County Council.
Phone: 094 90 24444
Contact Form: Access Enquiry Form
Open: 9am-1pm and 2pm-5pm Monday to Friday

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites