Mayo County Council logo


Accessibility Awards

The work carried out by Mayo Local Authorities, promotes, and actively encourages, equal opportunities for persons with disabilities; this allows them to participate in the economic, social, and cultural life of our communities.

As a result of the work being carried out, Mayo local Authorities won O2 awards in 2005 and 2006.

In 2007 Mayo Local Authorities won five major awards:

  • The O2 Ability Award –overall winner for the non-private sector.
  • Three Awards from the NDA Excellence through Accessibility Awards for Aras an Chontae Castlebar, Ballina Library and Westport Leisure Park.
  • An E-Government Award for our website.

In 2008 Mayo Local Authorities won an NDA Excellence through Accessibility Awards for Belmullet Civic Offices.

O2 Ability Awards

The O2 Ability Awards was a programme which recognised employers who provided accessible workplaces for employees with physical and/or mental impairments.  The award recognised organisations whose physical environment and policies enable people of all ability levels to work and progress within the organisation.

Mayo County Council received the overall O2 Ability Award in 2007 and awards in 2005 and 2006.

For more information on the Awards programme, visit their website at (opens new window).

2007 Overall Award

 Cathaoirleach Gerry Coyle receives the 2007 Overall O2 Award on behalf of Mayo County Council.    2007 O2 Ability Award overall winner.

In 2007, Mayo County Council won the overall public sector O2 Ability Award.  Read the full story on the O2 website (external link).

2005 and 2006

Mayo County Council received O2 Awards in 2005 and 2006 (photos below).
County Manager Des Mahon and Julie Ryan receive the 2005 O2 Award on behalf of Mayo County Council from Taoiseach Bertie Ahern.

O2 Ability Award 2005

Representatives of Mayo County Council receiving the 2006 O2 Award.

O2 Ability Award 2006

NDA Excellence through Accessibility Awards

The National Disability Authority Excellence through Accessibility award scheme seeks to promote and reward a clear focus on and committemnt to continuous improvement in accessibility of public services at all levels. To do this the award encourages the development of polices and relationships to ensure that achievements in accessibility are sustainable and meaningful to customers.

In 2007 Mayo County Council received three Excellence through Accessibility awards at the “Quality” level for the following buildings:

  • ARAS an Chontae, Castlebar
  • Ballina library
  • Westport Leisure Park

For more information on the awards and to view video clips of the award winners go to the NDA website:

E-Government Award

In 2007, Mayo County Council won the eGovernment Award for Accessiblity for

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites