Mayo County Council logo

Accessibility: Barcelona Declaration

The Barcelona Declaration Project

In 2002, Mayo County Council became a signatory to the Barcelona Declaration.

As a signatory, Mayo County Council pledges to make Council services and information accessible to those persons with disabilities.

The current Corporate Development Plan includes specific references to continuing to improve access to all our public offices for customers and staff with disabilities and to providing quality accessible services. The Council website meets WAI AAA compliance standards for web accessibility on most pages and all pages meet AA compliance.

What is the Barcelona Declaration?

The Barcelona Declaration made its first appearance at the 1995 conference “The City and the Disabled”. This was a major event with high-level Spanish and European support and attended by people from all over Europe. At the conclusion of the conference, 56 mayors and chairmen of European municipalities signed the Declaration in person and a further 86 indicated their intention by post and fax to sign in the immediate future. The Mayor of Drogheda, Mr Tom Godfrey, attended and signed.

As of July 2000, 320 cities and towns have adhered to what is the most important European convention on accessibility.

The Declaration is a simple but powerful document. It has no legal force but, by committing municipal authorities to a wide range of actions, it is a major instrument of change. It is also subtle, in that while entirely non-threatening, the measures, which follow on its adoption, are wide-ranging. For example, an adhering city or town undertakes to produce a plan for the implementation of the Declaration and to establish structures for ongoing consultation with people with disabilities and their representatives.

Accessibility Officer

Aras an Contae
The Mall
County Mayo

Please feel free to contact us concerning any issues of accessibility related to Mayo County Council.
Phone: 094 90 24444
Contact Form: Access Enquiry Form
Open: 9am-1pm and 2pm-5pm Monday to Friday

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites