Mayo County Council logo

Disability Act 2005

Disability Act 2005

The Disability Act 2005 is designed to support the provision of disability specific services and to improve access to mainstream public services for people with disabilities. It provides a statutory basis for accessible public buildings and services, the six sectoral plans, positive action for the employment in the public service, and restrictions on the use of genetic information, and the establishment of a centre for excellence in universal design.

Mayo Local Authorities are fully committed to meeting its obligations under the Disability Act 2005.  This Act requires the four Local Authorities of Mayo (Mayo County Council and the Town Councils of Ballina, Castlebar and Westport) to provide people with disabilities full and equal access to all their services.

The Department of Environment, Heritage and local Government prepared a Sectoral Plan as required under the Disability Act. Under this Sectoral Plan each Local Authority was required to prepare an Implementation Plan for the County. The Implementation Plan is to be underpinned by a commitment to funds by the Government, to ensure its implementation.

For further information on the implementation plan click on the link below:

Implementation Plan 2008-2015 (Word)

Implementation Plan 2008-2015 (PDF)

Access For All Committee

Aras an Contae
The Mall
County Mayo

Please feel free to contact us concerning any issues of accessibility related to Mayo County Council.
Phone: 094 90 24444
Contact Form: Access Enquiry Form
Open: 9am-1pm and 2pm-5pm Monday to Friday

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites