Mayo County Council logo


ISO 27001:2005 Certification

ISO 27001 Logo     

View Mayo County Council's ISO 2007:2005 Certificate (External Website - PDF Document)

Accessibility Awards

The work carried out by Mayo Local Authorities, promotes, and actively encourages, equal opportunities for persons with disabilities; this allows them to participate in the economic, social, and cultural life of our communities.

As a result of the work being carried out, Mayo local Authorities won O2 awards in 2005 and 2006.

In 2007 Mayo Local Authorities won five major awards:

  • The O2 Ability Award –overall winner for the non-private sector.
  • Three Awards from the NDA Excellence through Accessibility Awards for Aras an Chontae Castlebar, Ballina Library and Westport Leisure Park.
  • An E-Government Award for our website.

In 2008 Mayo Local Authorities won an NDA Excellence through Accessibility Awards for Belmullet Civic Offices.

O2 Ability Awards

The O2 Ability Awards was a programme which recognised employers who provided accessible workplaces for employees with physical and/or mental impairments.  The award recognised organisations whose physical environment and policies enable people of all ability levels to work and progress within the organisation.

Mayo County Council received the overall O2 Ability Award in 2007 and awards in 2005 and 2006.

For more information on the Awards programme, visit their website at (opens new window).

2007 Overall Award

 Cathaoirleach Gerry Coyle receives the 2007 Overall O2 Award on behalf of Mayo County Council.    2007 O2 Ability Award overall winner.

In 2007, Mayo County Council won the overall public sector O2 Ability Award.  Read the full story on the O2 website (external link).

2005 and 2006

Mayo County Council received O2 Awards in 2005 and 2006 (photos below).

Representatives of Mayo County Council receiving the 2006 O2 Award.

O2 Ability Award 2006

County Manager Des Mahon and Julie Ryan receive the 2005 O2 Award on behalf of Mayo County Council from Taoiseach Bertie Ahern.

O2 Ability Award 2005

Excellence Through Accessibility

In 2008, the Belmullet Area Office was awarded the National Disability Authority's highest designation (Excellence Level) under their Excellence Through Accessibility programme.  Belmullet was the first to receive this level of award in the Connaught/Ulster region.

In 2007, Mayo County Council was awarded three National Disability Authority Excellence Through Accessibility awards for the Arás in Castlebar, the Ballina Library and the Westport Leisure Centre.

Read more about the NDA awards programme.

Engineers Ireland

The Engineers Ireland CPD Accredited Employer logo.

The Engineers Ireland CPD Accredited Employer logo recognises good organisational practice in the area of professional development for engineers and technical staff and receives the formal backing of the Department of Enterprise, Trade & Employment.

The CPD Accreditation Scheme is designed to support lifelong learning by stimulating and recognising good organisational practice in the area of professional development for engineers and technical staff but can also be applied to all staff members in all areas of the organisation.

It is meant to yield measurable benefits under the following headings: Maximising potential of employees, Optimising payback from Training and Development expenditures, Creating an innovative and dynamic culture, Better alignment of business goals with annual plans and personal development, Improving recruitment and retention of staff and Raising the profile of our Office.

The accreditation was won by the Mayo National Roads Design Office.


FAS Excellence Through People Award

Excellence Through People LogoExcellence Through People is Ireland’s National Standard for Human Resource Development. It’s purpose is to encourage organisations to strive for excellence through the training, development and involvement of their people; and to show recognition for organisations that have achieved this aim. Mayo County Council first achieved this Standard in 1997 and has maintained this prestigious Award to-date.

  More Mayo County Council and Local Government Websites