You are Here: Home > Your Councils > Electoral Areas

Your Councils: Electoral Areas

Electoral Areas: Map

County Mayo Electoral Areas 2009 

What Are Electoral Areas?

The Republic of Ireland is divided into a number of Electoral Areas primarily for the purpose of electing County Councillors (view current Councillors).

Mayo is divided into 6 electoral areas, each represented by a varying number of Councillors (based on the area's population; between 4 and 6 per area).

Mayo County Council is also structured along these lines and has an Area Office to oversee its operation in each Electoral Area (view Area Office information).  The Westport Electoral Area is unique in having two offices, the main office in Westport and a satellite office in Newport.

In addition, Mayo County Council's management structure is based on three Grouped Electoral Areas, each with its own Director of Services.  These Grouped Electoral Areas are:  Westport and Bellmullet (Peter Hynes), Ballina and Swinford (Paddy Mahon), and Castlebar and Claremorris (Seamus Granaghan).